A watershed

is the entire territory that is drained by a water body and its tributaries.

The Rivière du Nord watershed

takes its roots in lac de la Montagne noire (northern extremity of the watershed), then goes through the municipality of Sainte-Agathe-des-Monts to follow its south east course.

Around Saint-Jérôme, the river turns south west up to Lachute.

It then goes down south crossing the municipality of Saint-André-d’Argenteuil, right before it reaches the Ottawa River.

Upriver from lac Raymond, the rivière du Nord is joined by the Ruisseau Noir (Sainte-Agathe-des-Monts).

Major lakes included in the watershed:
Montagne noire , Lanthier, St-Donat, and Manitou, Des Sables and lac Brûlé (Ste-Agathe).